Halloween Reads

I don’t know about you, but I love a good creepy read. There’s nothing better than a book that grips me so much I’m willing to scare myself silly right before bed! So with Halloween right around the corner, I thought I’d highlight some of the reads I’m going to be picking up at this most “festive” time of year.

hex

Hex
Thomas Olde Heuvelt

With a cover like that, how could this book not be t-t-terrifying! Hex is about a small town, haunted by the Black Rock Witch, whose mouth and eyes are sewn shut, where no one can ever leave. I’ve heard nothing but horrifying things about this book, and Halloween seems the perfect time to scare myself silly with it!

71vmj-9dzyl

House of Leaves
Mark Z. Danielewski

I first heard about this book after reading the incomparable S. by JJ Abrams and Doug Dorst. Unfortunately it’s virtually impossible to find anything remotely similar to that book, but this book kept being mentioned again and again. Telling the story of a family who move into a house where something isn’t quite right, I’ve had it on good authority that this book is one of those books that you never forget once you’ve read it. In the case of a horror story, I’m not sure whether that’s a good or a bad thing!

24396858

The Dead House
Dawn Kurtagich

I will rave about this book to anyone I can find, because it was by far my favourite book of 2015. Telling the story of Kaitlin, who comes out at night, and finds herself being haunted by…something, I’ve actually already read this, and raved about, but having got hold of the beautiful US edition, I just have to read it again!

32194188

Scare Me To Sleep: An Anthology of Short Stories to Dream About
Various

And finally, Scare Me To Sleep is an anthology of twelve short horror stories written by a collection of bestselling authors. I’ve just started reading this, and it’s already creeped me out on multiple occasions. Plus, the best thing about this book, is that all proceeds raised are donated to charity!

*

Let me know what spooky stories you’re reading this time of year, in the comments!

Happy Halloween!

One thought on “Halloween Reads

  1. I almost finished ‘House of Leaves’, but it was too creepy! Good luck, reading it. Please post a review, if you read it.
    ~Icky. 🙂

    Like

Let's talk!

