Hello Me, it’s You

Last year, I was diagnosed with Depression and Anxiety, after five years of battling it in silence. Since then, I’ve tried to be as open as possible about my mental health, because seeking help was the best thing I’ve ever done, and I know that if more of us talk about their struggles openly, the more those struggling in silence will see that it is okay to ask for help. In fact, it’s not just okay, it’s a lifesaver. My diagnosis is something I am totally unashamed of, because there is not a reason in the world to be ashamed of an illness you have no control over. And yet, we live in a world where mental illness, and everything associated with it, is still stigmatised and hidden away. In the UK, it’s led to a massive mental health crisis, with 1 in 4 people suffering with Depression at some point in their lifetime, and so the more exposure and the more understanding there is for mental illness, the better it is for all of us.

That is why I’m so excited to share with you a wonderful new book, Hello Me, it’s You.

hellomeitsyou

This project, started by student Hannah Todd, for her graduating assessment, is a collection of letters from mental health sufferers, written to their 16-year-old selves.

It is moving, emotional and heartbreaking, but perhaps most importantly of all, it is incredibly touching to read when you yourself can relate to everything that has been written.

You can almost sense the catharsis each writer got from penning their letter, and it has already inspired me to start writing similar letters to my former self, in an effort to tackle some of the issues I most struggle with.

I feel rating a book like this is almost unimportant, because it is just one of those incredibly important books. It’s something I would recommend everyone read, regardless of whether you are suffering or not, because, sadly, there is a very high chance that at some point in your life, you, or someone you know, will be diagnosed with a mental health disorder, and it is through reading books like Hello Me, it’s You, that we can all be better prepared for that eventuality.

(That all said, I’m still giving this 5 stars, because it deserves nothing less. I’d give it 10 if I could!)

5/5

Hello Me, it’s You is published October 10th.

I received a copy of this via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Let's talk!

