The Unified Theory of Love and…not much else.

31847863

I was at rest until I met him, and now I was in motion.

Emerson Wheeler seems to have everything: a husband, two beautiful daughters, and a job she loves, but after the death of her estranged father, something isn’t quite right. That is until she starts working at Hay Manor, home to the curious, one time intern to Albert Einstein, Sybil Hay. It is here where she finds herself thrown into the path of Finn Lowell, and as their friendship grows, Emerson begins to wonder whether she really does have everything after all.

*

I’m going to say first off, I don’t normally read romance novels. I have nothing against them, it’s just that they don’t tend to interest me, so that may or may not have had a bearing on my opinion of this book.

I will say, however, that this book promised more than it gave. The synopsis was as curious as Hay Manor’s proprietor (who’s escapades will be explored in an as yet unreleased prequel, that will probably actually turn out to be more interesting than the series it’s preceding). I was expecting something that really went into how grief can affect a person’s life, and for all intensive purposes it did, but not really with any depth.

I never really felt like there was any real exploration of any of the characters far enough for them to be seen as anything more than cardboard cut-outs. I didn’t feel anything for them, because they didn’t feel real. If anything, I actually disliked them even more.

Emerson spends her whole time lying to herself, and even we, the reader, don’t get to see anything past that picture-perfect marriage she’s tried to curate. In fact, as the book progressed, I actually just began to feel that she needed to be apart from both her husband and Finn, in order to figure her own life out. I do feel that this is the direction the Delphi series, which this is the first in the series of, is heading, but I felt that, ultimately, Travis Neighbor Ward prioritised tidying this book off with a happy little bow over the quality of the overall series.

Emerson’s love-life aside, there’s very little else of substance going on here. There’s a lot of talk about Einstein, and theories of love and science, and, had that been explored more, I think it would’ve made for a far more interesting read. However, as it is, it’s mentioned here and there as if to add something extra to an otherwise uninspired story, but not nearly enough to give it any real profundity.

Overall, this book lacked the depth it aspires to, due to unexplored possibilities and tedious characters. It’ll serve as an easy summer read, but, sadly, nothing more.

2.5 / 5

The Unified Theory of Love and Everything is out October 17th.

I was sent this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Let's talk!

