Five Books I’ll Never Read

It takes a lot for me to say, with absolute certainty, that I will never read a book. As a bookworm, that is a serious commitment, am I right? That said, there are some you just know, don’t you, you just know you’re not going to enjoy them. If anything you’re going to want to throw them out the window

throwing-book
(that gif is never getting old)

Just like that.

So, with that in mind, here are five books I just know I’m never going to read.

50 Shades of Grey E. L. James

509174b12aef7

Let’s get the easy one out of the way shall we. Okay.

So I’m not going to lie, I tried this out (not legally; I don’t condone illegally downloading books, but I also don’t condone legally paying to endorse sexual abuse) butt I quite literally couldn’t make it through the first page, because aside from said abuse, and the disturbingly inaccurate representations of BDSM culture, the writing is so SO BAD. It was like an adult version of My Immortal

tumblr_m8vb36awsi1r0eggqo1_500

The saddest thing is it’s the only sex-orientated book in the history of forever that women have felt comfortable reading in public, and it’s about the worst possible book for that to happen with. Maybe in another few thousand years another one will come along that is well-written and also happens to endorse consensual sex. One can only hope.

The Maze Runner Series James Dashner

maze-prank-gif-1268004

So I actually have a copy of this, so to say I’m not going to read it probably seems a bit weird, but let me explain.

I bought it ages ago to read, and then just kept putting off…and off…and off…until the film came out, and I just thought, what the hell, I’ll watch that. So I did. It was quite good. I enjoyed it, but not to the point where I thought I might actually get more out of this by reading it as well. So I didn’t.

Then eventually flash forward to this year, only a few months ago in fact, and I finally get around to watching The Scorch Trials. And that’s where any desire I might’ve had for reading this series ended.

Because, oh wow,

jurassicsexism

the sexism is strong in this one!

The women are either weak, lying or evil. Or all three.

So yeh, reading that is never going to happen.

The Infinite Wave/The Last Star Rick Yancey

tumblr_inline_o81igmtega1tx9av9_540

So I actually read The 5th Wave, and had really high hopes for it, considering everyone always raves about it.

And it actually started off quite good. I was enjoying it for a while there.

And then our heroine meets a guy, and suddenly she has a complete personality change, and turns into the damsel in distress.

I just got really annoyed with her by the end. She just became this whiny person, only ever thinking about this guy, despite the fact she’s trying to save her little brother, and that, you know, THE WORLD IS ENDING!

She went from being this interesting, well-driven young woman, to what I can only presume is Rick Yancey’s idea of a teenage girl. And I’ve been a teenage girl, and that wasn’t even close.

The Mortal Instruments Cassandra Clare

backawayslowly_zps736c6e08
(Please don’t hurt me)

So I’ve chosen The Mortal Instruments but the same can probably be said for any of Cassandra Clare’s books.

So firstly, I know films and TV shows of books are very very rarely spot on representations, but a lot of the people I know who love this series also seem to love the TV adaptation so I’m going by that.

I watched the film of this, and yeh it sucked, but then lots of people who liked the books also said that, so I’ll ignore that.

However, I also watched the first episode of the TV series, and okay, to be fair, it is terribly acted and terribly scripted, so that didn’t help, but the story, I’m sorry, but it just kind of…sucks.

Of course I still don’t have any intentions of reading her books because of the scary number of plagiarism accusations she has had against her over the years. Because, yeh, I don’t care if your books are great, or you’re the greatest author on the planet, if you’ve plagiarised then I’m not going near your books with a barge pole.

michelle-obama-ew-gif

The Selection Series II- Kiera Cass

There are some books that just aren’t written for some people, and I’m pretty sure this is the case here. I just wasn’t the target audience, and that’s fine.

I’m not going to bash the book, because I’m certain that had this book been out ten years ago I would’ve probably loved it, but as it is, it wasn’t, and I didn’t.

I just found it quite gratuitous and also very frustrating, because the whole book felt like it was leading up to the final actual selection, and it turned out that it wasn’t. So I just got really annoyed by that and felt like the story had been dragged out to sell more books, and it seems to have gone on to be a really long series about their kids of something as well, and yeh it’s just not my bag.

harry-potter-i-dunno-shrug-reaction-gif

*

This post is part of Top 5 Wednesday, as created by Lainey at GingerReadsLainey and hosted by Samantha at Thoughts on Tomes.

One thought on “Five Books I’ll Never Read

Let's talk!

