REVIEW: Paper Butterflies – Lisa Heathfield

9781405275392

A butterfly with a broken wing can still fly

You need to read this book!

I have never been affected by anything quite so much as I was while reading this.

This is the story of June, and her struggle to survive in a world that is repeatedly telling her she’s not wanted. From her step-mother’s abuse, to the bullying she endures at school, June can only find solace in an abandoned old caravan site, in paper butterflies, and in the companionship of a curious boy named Blister.

From the first page, I felt emotionally linked with June, and could not put the book down until I had finished the entire thing, because I was so desperate to see her escape the prison her life had become.

I don’t think it’s possible to fully understand what it’s like to be abused as a child unless you’ve actually gone through it, but reading this is about as close as I imagine it’s possible to get to that.

Lisa Heathfield writes with such honesty that I had a lump in my throat from beginning to end, because reading June’s story was so brutal and heartbreaking I felt like I was living everything she was going through. It didn’t take long for the tears to start flowing, and once they did, they didn’t stop until well after the final page.

I don’t think there’s anything I can say that even comes close to explaining how brilliant this book is, but I do know that everyone needs to read it!

It’s a raw and difficult read, but it’s also by far one of the best books I’ve read in a long time.

5/5

(I don’t normally hold to age restriction for books, but due to the content, I would not recommend this book for anyone under 14.)

I was sent a copy of this book by the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “REVIEW: Paper Butterflies – Lisa Heathfield

Let's talk!

