REVIEW: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss – Max Wirestone

Print

Every now and again you stumble upon a book you instantly know you’re going to love. This was the case with me when I started reading Max Wirestone’s new YA, The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss.

For the past year Dahlia Moss has been attending job interview after job interview in an attempt to end her year-long unemployment, but all that is about to change when she bumps into a curious guest at one of her room-mate’s bizarre house parties, and is hired to investigate the theft of ‘The Bejewelled Spear of Infinite Piercing’. However, when her new employer suddenly turns up dead, she finds herself investigating, not just a fictional weapon in a massively multiplayer online role-playing game, (yes, the spear isn’t even real!), but a very real, very gruesome murder!

I am unashamed to admit I am a big geek; I have attended Harry Potter conventions and own more Lord of the Rings memorabilia than I care to disclose, so reading about someone stepping into that world with no idea what she’s about to experience, is so much fun.

Dahlia is a brilliant protagonist, she’s so funny and sarcastic, she ends up in situations that are completely ridiculous, and I found myself cracking up in the middle of the night and nearly waking the whole house up. Her inner-monologue makes her feel more like your best friend than a character in a book; she brings this story alive, and you can’t help but be pulled along for the ride.

The story itself is very cleverly written, there are more red herrings than there are deaths in Game of Thrones, and you spend the entire time second-guessing yourself and suspecting every single person Dahlia comes into contact with.

Perhaps my favourite thing about it though is how Max Wirestone writes with such honesty and openness about fandom, choosing to celebrate it’s eccentricities (of which there are many!) rather than mock and laugh at it.

I just loved this book, it was so enjoyable, and left me with a huge smile on my face. I cannot recommend it enough and really, really hope we see more from Dahlia Moss in the future!

4/5

I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss – Max Wirestone

  1. Pingback: 5 books I really, really NEED to read! | If Paradise is a Library,

Let's talk!

