Top Ten Tuesday: Autumn TBR

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday and this week we’re talking about our TBRs for the Autumn.

This was such a tricky one! I have so many books I want to read these next few months and it was nearly impossible to pick only ten, but I mentioned to narrow it down so here we go!

In no particular order…

Six of Crows – Leigh Bardugo

sixofcrows

I was, honestly, on the fence about the Grisha Trilogy. Initially absolutely loved it, but as it wore on I got more and more frustrated with it. That said, I still really enjoyed it (and raced through it all in a week) largely because Leigh Bardugo is an expert at world building, so when I heard she was writing another two books based in the same world, I was giddy with excitement. I’ve heard nothing but great things, and as one of the few bloggers or booktubers who hasn’t read it yet, I cannot wait for next week!

Love From Paris – Alexandra Potter

lovefromparisalexandrapotter

I don’t read much romantic fiction these days, I think I overdid it during my teens, but I am so excited for Love From Paris. Alexandra Potter’s debut novel, Be Careful What You Wish For, is one of the few books I have retained from my teenage years, because it was just such an adorable book, and I also just kinda love Paris. In fact, I’m actually headed there later this week, and am planning on picking up this book beforehand to read on the train journey!

A Song of Ice and Fire – George R.R. Martin

asoiaf

 Yes, I know, it’s shocking I haven’t read this series yet, but I have a reason. The TV show for a long time was one of my favourite shows, and for that reason I didn’t want to read ahead and ruin it for myself. After the last season however I’m done with the show, and have decided to go back and read the entire series before the next book comes out next Spring. Realistically, that’s probably I’m probably not going to manage it all in time, but one can hope.

Asking For It – Louise O’Neill

 askingforit

I’m a big fan of fiction that forces us to talk about the things we don’t like to talk about, and Asking For It is one of those books. It says a lot about how important and much needed this book is that, on the very day it was published, a UK chat show ran a poll asking whether rape was ever a woman’s fault. I will definitely be reading this.

Walk on Earth a Stranger – Rae Carson

 walkonearthastranger

I’m not gonna lie, when I first saw this book I totally judged it by it’s cover, because, hot damn, isn’t it gorgeous?! Beauty aside, though, it has had rave reviews and I’m always up for fantasies with dynamic and interesting lead female characters.

Everything, Everything – Nicola Yoon

everythingeverything

I really love the sound of this book, even though I’m pretty sure it’s going to be an emotional rollercoaster, based entirely on the synopsis. Also good to see another novel tackling mental health in a way that doesn’t make mental health the whole story.

Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy

dumplin

As someone who has always been dogged by body issues, I’m so glad to see a book embracing being who you are. I don’t feel like there are nearly enough books written about characters who are bigger than average, and I’ve been so happy to see the positive effect this book has been having on people already. Looking forward to reading it for myself this Autumn.

George – Alex Gino

george

Talking of characters that we don’t see nearly enough, George is about a young trans girl wanting to play Charlotte in a school production of Charlotte’s Web. I’m so glad to see a book aimed at younger people talking about trans issues, because I feel like YA has rather lacked in trans representation in the past, but with the publication of this, and Lisa Williamson’s The Art of Being Normal, hopefully change is afoot.

Darkmere – Helen Maslin

darkmere

In my review of Dawn Kurtagich’s The Dead House last month, I mentioned how underappreciated the YA Horror genre is, but I have hopes that with books like that and Darkmere, the tide is turning. This sounds like a real gothic horror with a modern twist, and I just can’t wait to read it!

A Court of Thorns and Roses – Sarah J. Maas
ACOTAR

I never did get on with the Throne of Glass series, just couldn’t get into it, so when this was published a few months ago I didn’t really bat an eyelid. Then Lisa over at CityofYABooks mentioned how she also didn’t love Throne of Glass, but really enjoyed this, so I have decided to give it a shot!

Let's talk!

