Bout of Books 14 – Updates

Bout of Books is a readathon which takes place at various times throughout the year. I’ve taken part before and it’s one of my favourite readathons, simply because of it’s relaxed ethos. There are no set challenges, no set number of books you have to read, you can read as many or as few books as you wish.

Bout of Books 14 is taking place between the 17th and 23rd August 2015.

 My Bout of Books 14 TBR

The books I am hoping to read this week (TBR):

Rockoholic – CJ Skuse
A Brighter Fear – Kerry Drewery
Castle of Shadows – Ellen Renner
Night School – CJ Daugherty
Banished – Liz De Jager

All these books are from the list of books written by authors attending YA Shot 2015.

I will posting updates to this readathon here throughout the week, or on my Twitter.

*

DAY 1: Update

Not a great start, reading rather curtailed by bad neck ache 😦

Read:
Rockoholic – CJ Skuse (98 pages)

*

Day 2: Update

Neck ache continues to be bad, didn’t read at all today 😦 😦

Read:
Rockoholic – CJ Skuse (98 pages)

*

Day 3: Update

Finished Rockoholic this evening! 😀 😀 Review available to read here!

Read:
Rockoholic – CJ Skuse (Completed)

*

Day 4: Update

Started The Dead House – Dawn Kurtagich, and am loving it! Okay, it’s not on my original TBR, but I received it through the post today (after winning a competition run by Mily @TheYANightstand) and just couldn’t resist picking it up! Also, Dawn is also attending YA Shot so yay!

Read:
– Rockoholic – CJ Skuse (Completed)
– The Dead House – Dawn Kurtagich (151 pages)

*

Day 5: Update

Finished The Dead House. Review here (IT WAS AMAZING!)

Read:
– Rockoholic – CJ Skuse (Completed)
– The Dead House – Dawn Kurtagich (Completed)

*

Day 6: Update

Started reading an ARC of Hello, Goodbye, and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith. Fully aware my TBR has gone out the window at this point, but I just couldn’t resist this after receiving it in the mail a few days ago.

Read:
– Rockoholic – CJ Skuse (Completed)
– The Dead House – Dawn Kurtagich (Completed)
– Hello, Goodbye, and Everything in Between – Jennifer E. Smith (37 pages)

*

 Day 7: Update & Final Wrap-Up

Sadly, my Bout of Books ended in rather a damp squib. Neck ache has been plaguing me all week, and it was back in force for the final day. I didn’t manage to read anything, which means I finished the week with two books completed and another in progress. I also totally deviated from my original TBR (pretty book post be damned!), but will definitely be reading the other books on my TBR over the next week. Really sad I didn’t get to fully participate in BoB this time round but will be back in force for BoB 15 in the new year!

Final tally:
– Rockoholic by CJ Skuse (Completed, review here!)
– The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich (Completed, review here!)
– Hello, Goodbye, and Everything In Between by Jennifer E. Smith (37/256)

Let's talk!

