READATHON: TBR TAKEDOWN 2.0 – TBR

From this Saturday (25th) until next Friday (31st) is TBR Takedown 2.0 as created by Shannon over at Leaning Lights.

For those of you who don’t know, TBR Takedown is exactly what it sounds like: a readathon which tackles the ever growing pile of books you want to, but have yet, to read.

Normally I would post readathon TBRs to my BookTube channel, however due to crazy complicated events involving floating bookshelves and very hard walls, I haven’t been able to film my video as of yet, and it is already the eve of the readathon, so here instead is my TBR post for TBR Takedown 2.0!

CHALLENGE #1 – A First Book in a Series

This book appeared on NetGalley recently and the book cover looks awesome, and also reminds me a lot of the Serenity movie poster. I’m trying to rake up my NG Feedback to Approval ratio right now so, for this challenge, I have chosen Twelve Kings, the first book in The Song of the Shattered Spears series, by Bradley Beaulieu.

In the cramped west end of Sharakhai, the Amber Jewel of the Desert, Çeda fights in the pits to scrape a living. She, like so many in the city, pray for the downfall of the cruel, immortal Kings of Sharakhai, but she’s never been able to do anything about it. This all changes when she one of the asirim, a pitiful creature who wears a golden crown, stops Çeda and whispers long forgotten words into her ear. Çeda has heard those words before, in a book left to her by her mother. As Çeda begins to unlock the mysteries of that fateful night, she realizes that the very origin of the asirim and the dark bargain the Kings made with the gods of the desert to secure them may be the very key she needs to throw off the iron grip the Kings have had over Sharakhai.

CHALLENGE #2 – A Sequel Book in a Series

For this, I have chosen The Infinite, the sequel to Gates of Thread and Stone, by Lori M. Lee. I read “Gates” earlier this year and, although I had issues with the lead character and the writing style, there was still something about the plot itself that kept me gripped. I’ve had this sequel on my Kindle now for a few months and it seems about time to take it on!

Kai always believed the only danger to the city came from within. Now, with a rebel force threatening the fragile government, the walls have become more of a prison than ever. In this thrilling sequel to Gates of Thread and Stone, Kai must decide how much of her humanity she’s willing to lose to protect the only family she’s ever known.

CHALLENGE #3 – Out of Your Comfort Zone (Genre, Author, Reviews, etc.)

Technically I have actually already started this, but it is so far out of my comfort zone that I had to choose it for this challenge. I saw this on NetGalley and was initially grabbed by the subtitle, Detour to Apocalypse, which sounded like a lot of books I might normally read, and then I read the synopsis, which, despite being entirely outside my comfort zone, seemed too bizarre and ridiculously random to resist. For this challenge, I have chosen Detour to Apocalypse: A Rot Rods Serial, Part 1 by Michael Panush.

Roscoe is a hot rod-riding zombie, an undead gearhead and defender of the small Southern California town of La Cruz in the Freewheeling Fifties. Along with his friends, college age witch Betty Bright, Zoot Suiter shaman Angel Rey, and former bank robber Wooster Stokes, Roscoe takes on monsters and magic with motors and mayhem.
But now, a simple government job to capture a runaway rocket scientist and a stolen experimental flying saucer sends Roscoe and his friends into their toughest job yet. They’ll go up against ruthless Las Vegas gangsters, an insane alien-worshipping cult, a top secret government agency devoted to stealth and slaughter, and bizarre creatures from other worlds in their cross country mission to rescue a captured alien being and save the world from extraterrestrial destruction and an impending apocalypse.

CHALLENGE #4 – On Your Shelf Over a Year (or The Longest)

This book has been on my bookshelf since I was 12 (far longer ago than I care to admit), and so it seems only right that I should pick this book up for this challenge. This is Sabriel by Garth Nix, the first in the Abhorsen series.

Sent to a boarding school in Ancelstierre as a young child, Sabriel has had little experience with the random power of Free Magic or the Dead who refuse to stay dead in the Old Kingdom. But during her final semester, her father, the Abhorsen, goes missing, and Sabriel knows she must enter the Old Kingdom to find him.

CHALLENGE #5 – Most recently hauled book

I bought this so recently I haven’t actually filmed my haul video for it yet, but this is Pride and Prejudice: The Graphic Novel, by Jane Austen, adapted by Laurence Sach, illustrated by Rajesh Nagulakonda, produced by Campfire Graphic Novels. I just recently had a massive graphic novel haul and when I spotted this one, as an Austen fan, I just had to have it.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.”
So begins Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners–one of the most popular novels of all time–that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.

Wish me luck, and if you’re also taking part in TBR Takedown link me to your blogs and vlogs so I can check them out!

Let's talk!

