REVIEW: We Were Liars – E. Lockhart

We are liars

We are beautiful and privileged

We are cracked and broken

A tale of love and romance

A tale of tragedy

Every summer, the Sinclair family return to Beechwood Island, their privately owned retreat near Martha’s Vineyard. But with three generations of Sinclair’s all couped up together, the summer is sure to be filled with three things: fighting, bitching…and tragedy.

I’d heard a lot about this book prior to reading it, and perhaps this led to unrealistically high expectations, because I honestly felt quite bored.

The writing is very stylized, and, perhaps, too much so, because it just seems like very little is being said; I often felt I could’ve skipped forward 10 pages and still known what was going on.

The plot itself is very slow and I really had to push through the first half of the book to even get close to interested in it. However, I don’t want to comment on the plot too much for fear of spoiling it for anyone.

Ultimately though, I feel there’s very little I can say about this book. It’s an easy summer read, I read it in an afternoon, but it’s nothing to write home about.

Let's talk!

